Getting Error 1001 during the TFS PowerShell Cmdlets Installation in Windows Azure

It was pretty frustrated to keep getting the error 1001 when I tried to enable the TFS PowerShell Cmdlets feature during the installation of the Team Foundation Server 2012 Power Tools in Windows Azure.   If I did not select the TFS PowerShell Cmdlets, the installation went well without any errors. The error appeared whenever I wanted to enable the TFS PowerShell Cmdlets feature.

error 1001

I found out that the TFS PowerShell Cmdlets required .NET Framework 3.5 Features. However,  it was not enabled on the Windows Server 2012 r2 IaaS VM instance I created through the Microsoft image in the Gallery . It also did not include the source to install .NET Framework 3.5.  I was able to confirm it with the Get-WindowsFeature PowerShell Cmdlet.

dotNet35

When I tried to install the .NET Framework 3.5, the Add Roles and Features Wizard displayed a warning to inform me if I wanted to specify an alternative source path . Please notice it was just a warning. It still allowed me to proceed even I did not specify any alternative source path.  Of course, the re-installation of the TFS PowerShell Cmdlets did not work. It still gave me the same error 1001. It took me a while to realize that the .NET Framework 3.5 was not installed properly.

warning

Because I did not have the source for the .NET Framework 3.5, I just downloaded the ISO file of the Windows Server 2012 r2 from MSDN and mounted it. It only took a minute or two to download the ISO file within Azure. It was pretty quick. Then I just clicked “Specify an alternative source path” to point to F:\sources\sxs where the source was. The wizard did not provide an option to browse the folder, so I had to enter the path manually.

sxs

With .NET Framework 3.5 properly installed this time, the re-installation of the TFS PowerShell Cmdlets was completed successfully without any errors.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

